Sandy Utt Excellence in Teaching Award

Congratulations to this year's recipients of the Sandy Utt Excellence in Teaching Award.

Tenured or Associate Professor Category
Dr. Bob Britten Dr. Bob Britten
Teaching associate professor in the Reed College of Media, West Virginia University. 
Non-tenured Category
Six Patterson A. Kix Patterson
Doctoral student in the College of Journalism and Mass Communications, University of Florida

About the award: In an interview last year, Dr. Sandy Utt, for whom our division’s Excellence in Teaching Award is named, defined a good teacher this way: “There has to be a point at which you are challenging, to the point of [students saying] ‘Oh my God, what more can she possibly ask us?’ and challenging to the point of being understanding and kind.” Utt retired in 2019 after 34 years of teaching advertising. She donated a portion of her retirement funds to support the Visual Communication Division’s annual teaching competition.

If Utt’s sentiments resonate with you, please consider applying for this year’s competition that celebrates not only your knowledge but also your teaching skills, your passion for the field, your engagement with students and colleagues, and your innovative skills in the classroom.

The competition has two categories: tenured and non-tenured instructors. I’d like to especially invite graduate teaching assistants to participate!