AEJMC is proud to recognize outstanding achievements of some of our members at the conference. View the list of AEJMC award recipients expected at the AEJMC 2024 Conference in Philadelphia, PA. Award winners will be added as they are selected. A full list of winners will be announced before the conference via email to all all AEJMC members.

AEJMC Awards

  • AEJMC Equity & Diversity Award
  • AEJMC First Amendment Award
  • Dorothy Bowles Award for Outstanding Public Service
  • Krieghbaum Under-40 Award
  • Lillian Lodge Kopenhaver Outstanding Early-Career Woman Scholar Award
  • Lionel C. Barrow Jr. Award for Distinguished Achievement in Diversity Research and Education
  • News Audience Research Paper Award
  • Paul J. Deutschmann Award for Excellence in Research
  • AEJMC-Knudson Latin  America Prize
  • Nafziger-White-Salwen Dissertation Award
  • Tankard Book Award
  • Baskett Mosse Award for Faculty Development
  • Eleanor Blum Distinguished Service to Research Award
  • Collaborative Scholar
  • AEJMC 2024 Senior Scholar
  • AEJMC 2024 Emerging Scholar
  • 2024 Teaching Committee Best Practices Award


    AEJMC Partner Awards 

    • 2023 Scripps Howard Fund Journalism & Mass Communication Administrator of the Year Award (Awarded in 2024)
    • 2023 Scripps Howard Fund Journalism & Mass Communication Teacher of the Year Award (Awarded in 2024)
    • Gene Burd Award for  Excellence in Urban Journalism
    • Gene Burd Award for Research in Urban Journalism Studies
    • Frank Luther Mott/Kappa Tau Alpha Award